Add ideas to your wishlist, by filling out the gift form, or by sharing a link directly from your browser!
Groups bring together your loved ones. Through groups, you see their wishlists and can interact with them. This is how you share your wishlist. No more dozens of links to share!
By visiting the wishlists of your loved ones, you can indicate which gifts you would like to give. Don't worry, they won't know a thing, the surprise is kept!
Sharing your wishlist is super simple! Just create a group (or join an existing one) bringing together your loved ones, and that's it! Your loved ones will see your wishlist and you will see theirs! And so you can specify what gifts you want to give.
I chose not to use link sharing for several reasons: 1 - For your security and privacy: A link can be forwarded to anyone, intentionally or not. Anyone who has it could then access your wishlist, which compromises the privacy of your wishes. The group system ensures that only invited members can view the lists. 2 - For maximum simplicity: Link sharing often creates confusion: - Links get lost in chaotic group chats (especially at Christmas!). - You sometimes have to chase after the wishlists of those who forgot to send them (myself included). - It's less intuitive for people who are less comfortable with technology, like our elders. The group solution is much simpler: you enter a unique code just once, and you have access to all your relatives' wishlists in a secure and centralized way. That's it!
Once you join or create a group, you can invite other members. To do this, go to the bottom of the group page, click on 'Invite new members'. You will then see a QR Code and a code. If the person you want to invite is nearby, you can show them the QR Code which they can scan from the app. Otherwise, you can share the link or the code, which they will enter in the app to join the group.
Yes! This is necessary for several reasons: - To identify you. Indeed, when I display gifts, I need to know who is requesting it. If you view a gift that is not for you, then I know I can show you if it's taken by someone, for example. Whereas if you look at an idea from your wishlist, I have to keep it a surprise! So authentication is necessary. - For security reasons. Let's say there is a bug and someone wants to see your wishlist or a gift from your list, I double check on my server to make sure that the person wishing to view this idea knows you (by checking whether you belong to a common group for example). Thus, the goal is to prevent anyone from viewing your personal information and your wishlists.
Let's take the example of your list. You see the ideas that you have added. If certain ideas are going to be offered to you, you don't see it! But your loved ones know it. This helps to avoid duplicates. In addition, on your list, you only see the gifts that you have added. But your loved ones may have added ideas to your list! You don't see these ideas!
No worries, I don't do anything about it, they are safe on my servers! The only information required is your email address to identify you (and to be able to send you a password recovery link if necessary). All other information is absolutely not required for Family Gift to work, and is only used for the purpose of providing you with the best experience on Family Gift. You can read our Privacy Policy for more details.
I do not own the e-commerce sites. So, I have an algorithm allowing me to open the page and read the visible information. It works on the best-known and most used sites, but given the multitude of existing sites, I cannot write an algorithm that works every time. Moreover, a website that worked at one time could modify its architecture, and my retrieval method becomes obsolete and stops working.
Family Gift allows you to easily keep up to date with notifications. You will be able to receive them for the following events: - A gift that you wanted to take has been deleted: this application allows you to easily choose another idea! - An idea has been added to a loved one's list: if you are a bit like the app developer who gets gifts at the last minute, this notification will allow you to be responsive and 'reserve' a gift before the others! - Exclusion from a group: this notification warns you if you have been excluded from a group. - Secret Santa: This notification warns you if a Secret Santa has started or stopped in one of your groups - Birthdays: This notification allows you to remember that a loved one's birthday is coming soon. A notification is sent 14 days, 7 days before the birthday and on the big day.
There are no limits, you can add as many ideas as you want, and join or create an unlimited number of groups.
Family Gift is completely free, and without ads! And it will stay that way! Regarding limitations, there are none, you can add as many ideas as you want to your list, join or create as many groups as you want, add as many Children's profiles as you want!
Yes, you can add an idea to someone else's list, without that person knowing! To do this, you can go to their list, and click on the Gift button in the bottom right of the screen to add an idea.
You can manage other wishlists from your account. Indeed, certain people (young children, grandparents, pets, etc.) cannot or do not want to use a smartphone. You can create 'Children's profiles' from your profile. This way, you can manage these lists the same way as yours!
No, that's not really how Family Gift works. However, you can choose which groups can see your ideas. To do this, when creating or editing a gift idea, you can select or deselect the groups in which you want this idea to be visible.
No. Check in the app settings that notifications are enabled. If so, you can go to your device settings to check that notifications are allowed. Finally, notifications being sent automatically from my server, check that you authorize background processes.